Choking on Blessings

breathe

Have you ever had something going very well for you? A new & thriving relationship, knocking it out of the park at work, or maybe finally exercising, consistently. It was going so well you begin to ask yourself the old adage, “Is this too good to be true?” You begin to doubt your success wondering if it was a set up for a let down.  You begin looking over your shoulder wondering when someone was going to tell you it was all a dream.  You begin struggling to enjoy yourself because you were anticipating eminent failure. I call this “choking on blessings“.

Chocking on blessings is when you cannot get out of your own way; tripping over your own proverbial foot. Many people fear failure, but I believe just as many (if not more) fear success.  For some this may be a product of insecurities or past failure.  For others it may be due to a struggle in accepting gifts or simply an inability to celebrate accomplishments. I believe the core struggle of chocking on blessings is fear.  Fear masks itself in many ways, but in this case, I believe fear shows itself as unworthiness.  “I’m unworthy of good so I don’t deserve to experience a blessing.” However, this kind of fear opens the door to grace.  Grace says “Even though you may not deserve the blessing, I’m going to just give it to you..I’m going to give you more than enough!”  Grace allows us to breathe in the midst of blessings versus choking on them

Rest in the reality that you can enjoy success in your life and there is nothing wrong with that.  Though fear will tell you otherwise, be reminded that grace is real and alive in your life.  As the timeless hymn says, “‘Tis grace that brought me safe thus far and grace will lead me home.”